Obama: “You should learn Spanish!”

July 10, 2008 at 12:01 pm 2 comments

Obama told a group gathered to hear about his flip-flopped ideas of change in Powder Springs, GA that instead of worrying about immigrants learning English, because they will learn English, we should worry about our children learning Spanish.

I have a problem with this. I agree with the fact that we should be learning multiple languages. I learned two languages in school, Japanese and Latin. I chose not to learn Spanish. I do think that students should be pushed to learn about other cultures and languages, but i don’t think we should have to learn a certain language because immigrants won’t acknowledge they speak English.

Some liberals say that we are taking this video out of context. He is talking about the school systems. If he was talking about our school system and what we need to improve it, that is a different story. Instead, he refers to immigrants learning English. This is another issue.

I live in Houston, TX where I am now a minority. As a resident of the US, I don’t think it is my responsibility to learn Spanish so I can read billboards, product packages, and speak to other citizens (oh, wait, are illegals consider citizens?). If the billboard were in Latin, I could read it. What about French?

We are talking about two different issues here. Why must we conform to learning someone else’s language so they have an easier time of becoming a citizen. I don’t see other countries bending for us. In fact, when we can’t speak their language, we are criticized and condemned for it. If you want to be a citizen of the US, you should have to speak English. Period!

The second issue that has been tied to Obama’s speech is the school systems. This should be addressed on separately. I firmly believe we are behind much of the rest of the world when it comes to schools. The more we allow Democrats to decide on legislation, the further behind we will get. I was an over-achiever in school. I took college courses in middle school. The biggest problem I faced was the fact that I was not “average.” I was even told I would have to retake some classes so I could fit in line with everyone else. For the same reason we have welfare and other “average” programs, our school systems don’t reward success.

Instead of dumbing it down, so every kid can pass each grade, why don’t we step it up and force our kids to rise to that level. We want to act like the biggest and best country in the world, but we allow our children to barely read and get through high school. Democratic legislation has tried to penetrate schools, the work force, and just about every other part of life to make sure everyone has a chance. If they can’t succeed, we will just give it to them. I know I have taken this on a tangent, so I will write about this separately.

The bottom line is the more we lose the identity of America, cater to EVERYONE else, the closer we are to extinction as a world power.

Entry filed under: Politics. Tags: , , , , .

Obama: Can’t Get Iraq Policy Right! Answer To Our Economy: FairTax

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bill Chapman  |  July 10, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    As a citizen of the United Kingdom, I won’t comment on the USA’s politics, but I hope you’ll allow me to comment on a linguistic matter.

    It would be good if Americans were to look more favourably on learning languages other than a form of English.

    I would like to argue the case for learning and using Esperanto. This is a planned language which belongs to no one country or group of states. Take a look at http://www.esperanto.net

    Esperanto works! I’ve used it in speech and writing in a dozen countries over recent years.
    Indeed, the language has some remarkable practical benefits. Personally, I’ve made friends around the world through Esperanto that I would never have been able to communicate with otherwise. And then there’s the Pasporta Servo, which provides free lodging and local information to Esperanto-speaking travellers in over 90 countries.

    What do you think?

    Reply
  • 2. averagepolitics  |  July 10, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    As I said in the blog, I do think the US should push learning other languages and cultures. I wish I had taken the time to learn a variety of languages when it was easier to learn (children learn languages at least twice as fast as adults).

    Unfortunately, the US is stubborn and proud. This is an effect of years and years of our culture being passed down starting with the American Revolution. Most Americans feel English is the only option.

    I looked over the website for Esperanto. I didn’t look into it a great deal, but I like the concept. With a neutral language, no one can claim ownership, superiority, etc. so it might be a good idea. I don’t think it is a concept that could be extremely successful in the US. Europe would be a great place for this concept, where people have to learn a variety of languages already. The difference between the US and Europe is location. You have people speaking completely different languages no further than one US state to another. I travel further (distance) than you could in some stretches of Europe, and when I get there, they speak English. If they spoke German or French, I would be forced to learn more languages.

    I like the idea, and I could see myself learning Esperanto, if it would be useful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



HuckPac.com
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

