80% Services For 100% Payment

July 1, 2008 at 10:46 pm 2 comments

In one of my rants that has nothing to do with politics, I am very upset with the day care my child attends. She goes to one of the better day cares, Primrose, in the area. Primrose is a national franchise, so there are at least local owners. It is very expensive; in fact, it is more than a mortgage payment each month.

I have been getting irritated a little more each holiday that the day care decides to be closed. I understand being closed on a holiday. I would probably not take my daughter to day care on those days anyway, but I am not given the choice. The only reason this irritates me is because they still charge the full weekly rate for those weeks. This week is a good example. They will be closed on Friday, July 4th, but they wanted the regular weekly payment on Monday. They are going to deliver on 80% of the services but want 100% of the payment.

What other industry can you deliver 80% and ask for 100% payment? Apparently, this is a common trend in the child care industry. I understand if I don’t take my child to their facility one day, but when they know well in advance that they will be closed, and they are not giving me any option for that day, I don’t feel I should have to pay for it. The only response I get is, “It’s our policy.” I want that policy for my company.

The biggest reason why this is starting to really tick me off is because I have to pay for whole weeks that my child will not be there. My mother is coming to stay with us for a week 5 weeks from now, and even if I give them adequate notice, they still demand payment for that week. So they can close when they want, and I still have to pay for it. She doesn’t go, I still have to pay for it. I give them plenty of notice, I still have to pay for it! What is going on??? Can someone please explain the rationale to me? Can someone please give me the argument of the day care, because I think this is a bunch of crap!!!

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , .

Rep. James Fagan threatens victimized children everywhere! Obama: Can’t Get Iraq Policy Right!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. daycare owner  |  July 2, 2008 at 10:34 am

    As a business owner I grant paid holidays for my Employees just as you are paid for the holiday by your employer( which is how it should be, a holiday from work). Childcare is a business like any other with Employees that deserve holidays. Your problem is who pays for it? Well every business’s customers pay for it. The Childcare business has paper thin margins and very little respect from its customer base, I here very often that ‘ I pay good money for this service ‘when actually they do not pay enough for teachers to have good salaries and profitable owners. If it was not for the love of children why would anyone invest a million dollars into a business and recieve a very small profit and have very little repect for thier time and investment???

    Reply
  • 2. averagepolitics  |  July 2, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Thanks for the response daycare owner.

    I understand that employees need holidays. I have been a director of a child care program, so I also understand the extremely low margins. When I was a director, parents would tear me a new one if I tried to charge them for a holiday that I was closed.

    In any other business, do customers pay for services when the company is closed? When a business owner agrees to give employees holidays off with pay, that is part of the cost of doing business.

    I am not upset that they are closed on holidays. I think everyone should get holidays, but I am upset that I have to pay the full rate for that week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



HuckPac.com
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

