Current Events: American Idol and Miley Cyrus

April 30, 2008 at 11:00 pm Leave a comment

Occasionally, this blog will have to stray from strictly politics, especially since our society is extremely concerned with Hollywood and its people. Two topics in current events, American Idol and Miley Cyrus, have really got to me.

First, American Idol. I am trying to be supportive of my wife and her desire to watch American Idol. I have watched most of this season, partly in hopes I could use it to encourage interest in the Dallas Cowboys’ games, but I know she would like for me to join her in watching this atrocious show.

I have been in the music business and worked with Sony’s independent leg of distribution, so I have been able to experience the promotion, advertising, and marketing that goes into today’s music world. When I watch American Idol, I am amazed by the blatant push of J Records’ other artists. I can’t give them too much grief, because I have used TV shows to promote my other products, but can it be any more blatant? This is really not my biggest issue with American Fido, I mean, Idol. Have you seen the cutesy videos they show on the elimination night? How about the ugly placement of Ford vehicles? What about the shameless mention of Coca-Cola products and the cups the judges must display, with the Coca-Cola label visible at all times? How about the 5 minute preview of Dancing With the Stars? What about the other Fox shows and movie plugs? They really don’t try to be subtle with their cross-promotion, and being a member of the marketing world, I find it gross, distasteful, and pretty freaking irritating! I can’t wait for this season to be over, so I will get a month or two reprieve of American Fido (darn it, I did it again)!

Second: Miley Cyrus. I am a new father to a beautiful daughter. She will soon start idolizing and becoming attached to TV characters and stars. First, it will be Dora and Diego, but then it will move to the Disney characters like Miley Cyrus and her alter-ego Hanna Montana. I have been saying for a little while that I didn’t like Miley and thought she was a little sketchy, especially after there were reports of a not-so-appropriate Halloween costume worn by Miss Wholesome, Miley Cyrus. Now, this Vanity Fair photo session has emerged.

I am amazed that this photo shoot even happened, especially after the clothes came off. I know that daddy had a short-lived, almost comical career as a star, and he wants nothing more than his sweet daughter to make the family a billion dollars by the time she is 15, but I find it hard to believe any self-respecting father would be okay with this type of photo. She is only 15, so I know mommy or daddy was probably at the photo shoot. I have seen a few comments across the net saying there is nothing wrong here, and even Miley can be quoted: “I took part in a photo shoot that was supposed to be ‘artistic’…”, but come on, the girl is 15 YEARS OLD! Why would you sexualize a 15 year-old? I don’t care if it supposed to be artistic. The artistic side of such a photo is to combine the sexual nature of the photo with some black and white photoshopping. If she was 18, maybe it would be okay, but not a 15 year old. Artistic or not, she has no shirt on!!!! If my daughter took a picture like this, I would be outraged, and to make it even worse, it can’t be blamed on her. Every girl at 15 is reaching that age where they want to feel sexy, desired, etc, but she is still so young, she doesn’t realize the effects of this and other photos of her that are circulating. When it comes down to it, Daddy should be held accountable… Good job, Billy!

I also am so tired of celebrities doing stupid crap like this, and then making some bull—- statement after the fact to try to clear it up. “I took part in a photo shoot that was supposed to be ‘artistic’ and now, seeing the photographs and reading the story, I feel so embarrassed,” Miley said in her statement. “I never intended for any of this to happen and I apologize to my fans who I care so deeply about.” If this were really her thoughts, she shouldn’t have done it in the first place, but I know this is just what a publicist told her to say! Why can’t people use the small brains they have been given and not do stupid crap in the first place? Once again, she is only 15! Daddy should have done something about this before it became news.

Entry filed under: General.

Hello, average people of America! Should Hillary Drop Out?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


HuckPac.com
April 2008
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

